WRX EJ20 Turbo into L-Series Wagon

Any thing and every thing ever asked about how to do an EJ conversion to an L series and MY. Includes Brumby and Coupe.
L-Rex

WRX EJ20 Turbo into L-Series Wagon

Post by L-Rex » Thu Sep 20, 2018 11:21 am

Hi All,

Thought I'd start sharing the build thread for my latest project.

First, some background on me; I am an engineer, with 25+ years experience in the conversion scene, and enjoy doing the unusual conversions that most people don't attempt.
All of my conversions are fully complied through RTA/RMS signatories, and I do as much as possible of the work myself, including the machining, welding and fabrication.
Most of my conversions are still on the road, and it's pretty satisfying to see them pop up at car shows, or just spotted randomly.
Where possible, I use off-the-shelf parts, which keeps costs down, and ensures that the vehicle can be serviced/repaired well into the future.
None of my vehicles are built to be show cars. They are all designed to be reliable, daily drives, that don't draw attention to the owner; classic sleepers.

Vehicle; 1992 L-Series EA83 wagon, with a 3 speed auto.

Donor; 2001 Bug-eye WRX, manual.

Planned mods;
  • WRX motor
  • WRX 5 speed manual
  • WRX rear diff
  • Rear disc conversion
  • Heavy duty suspension
  • 14", 4 x 140 steel rims
  • Heater box repair
  • Radiator
  • Front mount intercooler
  • Hybrid wiring

First project; Rear disc conversion.

As many of you know, the L-series was available with rear disc brakes, both here and in the USA.
These were generally found on the turbo models, and also various Vortex vehicles.
There is a difference between the hubs for AWD and FWD, and they are available in 4 x 140 and 5 x 100 PCD.
The 5 x 100 PCD was fitted to the XT6 only (6 cylinder Vortex), and involved further modification to the front hubs to fit the L-Series.
I wanted to keep 4 x 140, so I set about sourcing those.