My brumby build

Detailed reference pages on Members special projects ...
Destinationtoby

My brumby build

Post by Destinationtoby » Sun Jan 11, 2015 10:49 pm

Hey guys, Love the forum:D tons of great info, have been reading for hours.
I'm a complete noob to the brumby world, but I've picked one up for $150 as a project, mainly because it was a hundred & fifty bucks lol but because I wanted something different and unique.

I want to street spec it, lower it etc
But first it's in need of a major clean up. It's had a rough life by the looks, but i reckon I can fix her up to showroom material :p
Have found one spot of rust in the footwell area, and lots of surface rust in numerous areas from stone chips and scratches etc.
So that's the first thing I'm getting onto. I will do a full re-spray further down the track.
I've started gutting the interior so I can rust proof and sound deaden the whole thing.
As u can see from the pics, it's quite disgusting :/

It needs a new cv & I can hear a bad exhaust leak up near the headers.

After the necessary boring stuff is done, Im going to look into making up some custom flared guards, some bolt on wheel spacers, coilovers and stancing it. As I think that wider body look will be different & look awesome in my opinion.
Going to install a wicked sound system.
Going for the full mafia spec look, dark tint, black paint and will have the wheels sand blasted and powder coated black.
Would love to do a 5 stud conversion so I can put some nice rims on her, but it seems somewhat difficult. Plus I don't mind these little stockies that are on there for now.
During the above process, which I'm sure Will take a few months at least. I shall be researching the wrx conversion & browsing the net for half cuts.

Now for some nooob questions ;)

What is a L'series and what motor do I have in mine?
Is it the ea81 or 82? And what's the difference?
All I know is that it's a 1992 and it's got a GL badge on the tailgate.