Frug's Forester XT 2005 Offroad-assissing project

Detailed reference pages on Members special projects ...
frug

Frug's Forester XT 2005 Offroad-assissing project

Post by frug » Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:28 pm

Hi there everyone.

This is a little thread about my progress of turning my 2005 XT into a softroader that i can take out and have a little fun in.

Firstly, let me tell you a bit about me. I'm not very good with cars, I'm more of a Bicycle man, but i'm willing to give anything a go, if i can put it back together and more than happy to get as much infro from people with more experience. If I'm not keen on doing anything, I'm more than happy to take it to a trusted mechanic and pay for their expertise.

Now, the new love.
She's a late 2005 Forester XT. She's done 60,000kms, stock when i bought her. Kept in really good condition, with nothing i can really see wrong with her. That's about it about her.
This pic was taken after I'd transferred my King Springs and KYB struts off my old Forester X.

List of things I'd love to get done to the car:
King Springs
KYB Struts
1" body lift
BF Goodrich AT Tyres
Front and rear bars
New exhaust (for a little more perrrrr)
Roof Racks
Side Awning
Shovel mount
UHF Radio

Hope you enjoy my travels into car customising!!!

frug

First thing's first

Post by frug » Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:55 pm

So, the first thing I needed to do to my XT was to transfer everything I'd done on my 2006 X, onto my new XT.

I'd fitted King Springs, KYB Struts, BF Goodrich AT tyres and a Bash plate to my X, so getting the same body type in the XT, I figured that those things should be able to be swapped straight over............hopefully......

These 2 pics were taken before I'd done anything to my XT.