Brumby Mods

Get the most out of your ride & how to make enhancements ...
ashleyn

Brumby Mods

Post by ashleyn » Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:28 pm

Hi All

I'm pretty new at this and am blown away by your collective knowledge. I have a 1990 Brumby, done 200k when I got it. I've replaced the CV's, bought Speedie 14" wheels, torneau cover and SAAS steering wheel. Apart from that pretty standard but I'd like to do some mods. Needs new exhaust system and I want to add power steering and a 2" lift kit, maybe some better shocks. Done a bit of research but like as many tips as possible. I'm reasonably handy but want to know what I should tackle and what I should leave to the experts.

AndrewT

Post by AndrewT » Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:22 pm

Hi

Adding power steering is as simple as aquiring a power steering pump, lines and rack from any MY series car (brumby, wagon, coupe, sedan) and bolting them in.

2" lift kit order one from BYB or HiRise and bolt it in, shouldn't cause any dramas at all. The instructions are easy to follow with hardly any points to pay special attention to. You basically just need some spanners and a socket set, some good axel stands and a decent hydraulic jack make it easier too.
You will have to take a quick trip to an exhaust shop to have the exhaust repositioned a little - it will hang down too low otherwise.

I'm more familiar with L series shockies and springs but I the good old KYB Strut / Kings Springs combination goes well in the front end of an MY. I beleive you use Gas Riser shockies from some kind of Holden for the rear end (?? somebody correct me on this)

tim_81coupe
General Member

Post by tim_81coupe » Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:09 pm

yeah MGR-504 HQ-WB Holden rear air shocks almost bolt straight in... just need to use an adaptor to mount the top pin to the two bolt holes on the body.

Can post a shockie mount picture if need be.
82 MY Wagon, EJ20G

87 RX, EJ20G

89 Brumby, EA81

12 BRZ, FA20

Matatak

Post by Matatak » Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:14 pm