Engines

Get the most out of your ride & how to make enhancements ...
ashman

Engines

Post by ashman » Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:21 pm

Hey guys,

I have a 1993 Subaru Brumby. In the near future I want to swap the engine over and give it something with ALOT more grunt.

1st - I am on P plates so therefore I cant have anything with a turbo charger.
2nd - I only can spend about $5000 - $7000 for the motor and instalation. I have no idea what to put in, how much instalation costs and do i need a running kit for the engine?

For arguments sake if i put in a forester engine wouild i need all the drive shaft and gearbox and all that stuff?

ANy suggestions?

Oh. And if you havent figured out I am not good with all this technical stuff. So please dont RAGE at me for not knowing.

Your help is much appreciated!!!!

Thanks.

From ASHMAN

H-top

Post by H-top » Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:32 pm

Check fitting ej engines into my series
in the performance and conversions section
H-Top

rolling in

MY00 GT Foz - Auto, Turbo, Luxury

FujiFan

Post by FujiFan » Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:40 pm

Wow 5-7 grand ay. Just imagine what you could achieve with that if you can DIY as much as possible. Or the other way you could go is to pay some shyster to give you very little in return.
It would be really good to see a P plater spend his dough on a 93' Brumby with excellent results.
Whatever you do, research it properly. Can't w8 to c the results:)

TOONGA
Elder Member

Post by TOONGA » Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:46 pm

Welcome to the board Ashman for between 5-7000 dollars there are a few good options.

Bennies conversion thread here

showthread.php?t=11733&highlight=conversion is well worth a read yes it is an EJ22 into and L series but It helped me quite a bit before I did my swap.

as did this thread

showthread.php?t=980&highlight=conversion

then there is my thread a bit of a spamfest :) (what can I say we like making fun of each other) but I did manage to highlight the best bits in the first post