ignition coil

How to fix gremlins & general maintenance issues ...
Vortex75

ignition coil

Post by Vortex75 » Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:06 am

Hey guys, looking at getting a new coil for 89 Vortex turbo. I was looking at a bosch gt40, would this do the job or is it a special kind of coil?
Canny
89 VortexXT 4WD Turbo

Tweety
General Member

Post by Tweety » Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:27 pm

Hi Vortex,

I have a ea81. I have a MSD master blaster 2 coil that I've considered putting back on my engine for a while now.

But, the possibility of module damage worries me. Also why arent manufacturers installing such coils when they make the car?

I have a thread on USMB on this posted recently if you want to read it called "high output coils"

I wrote to MSD recently with my concerns and they emailed me back "the mb2 is suitable for your engine". I'm still not convinced. Why? Because no technical information was provided. And-

The stock coil (I bought one from Frog) has a primary resistance of 1.1 ohms. The master blaster coil has 0.7 ohms 60% less. That has to have an effect on the module IMO.

Also, according to the great GD General Disorder, a guy that seems to be one of the guru's in this game - he said air and fuel has a lot more to do with engine output than spark (providing your ignition system is in good working order. So would you be getting 1-2 hp for the sake of risking your module and other issues? Is it worth it? I dont think so.

Read up a lot more on this topic before leaping to buy a higher output coil. Have a read.

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/top ... put-coils/
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Tweety trike- EA81 (full reco 2014) 32/36 weber, SPFI manifold, 9.5:1 CR, VW auto.

Gazza01

Post by Gazza01 » Fri Jun 19, 2015 6:58 am

I don't know if the EA81 Brumby coil is that same but I got a TRIDON coil TIM-033 was OK. Just go to the TRIDON site and check.

steptoe
Master Member

Post by steptoe » Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:28 am