engine mounts or other movement problems

Get the most out of your Engine / Gearbox with these handy hints ...
cooloothin

engine mounts or other movement problems

Post by cooloothin » Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:10 pm

Hi all.

I have very little mechanical knowledge myself so am unfortunately at the mercy of REPCO because I don't have a huge amount of spare time / money to learn either.

Car went in 2 months ago with movement in the engine bay - suspected cracked front engine mounts. There sure was movement because it cracked an exhaust mount under the body as well. Front mounts were replaced. other stuff fixed. $300.

Got it back to find it still had 'movement'. This is best described as a tactile and audible clunk when you press the accellerator or release, even in first gear in a carpark. Any time there's engine strain against stopped or slow motion basically. At one set of lights i was convinced I could hear the screech of metal on metal as something big shifted.

Went back recently and got the rear engine mounts done, $130.
Called them up today and he'd finished this job, taken it for a test drive and could STILL hear / feel clunking. "will have to investigate further".

Any ideas? wild guesses?

thanks in advance...
RIP: stock '84 Sportswagon 4sp SR (sold after 13 years loyal service, to the wreckers for $100 :( )

'08 79V Forester X 5sp DR + subaxtreme bullbar, sump guard, Yoko geo ATS, kybs & 1inch kings (daily driver and go-anywhere tourer)

timmo

Post by timmo » Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:01 pm

maybe check the engine stay rod thingy?
L series wagon EA82T (RIP)
'92 Liberty RS Turbo
GU Patrol Ute
Honda XR400R

cooloothin

Post by cooloothin » Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:03 pm

i love that technical description timmo :) I'll go consult my Gregory's manual.
RIP: stock '84 Sportswagon 4sp SR (sold after 13 years loyal service, to the wreckers for $100 :( )