Turbo HELP!

Get the most out of your Engine / Gearbox with these handy hints ...
lo45hw

Turbo HELP!

Post by lo45hw » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:15 pm

Hi guys

I just bought a 2007 Subaru Impreza WRX MY08 a few weeks ago and it has a couple of mods, such as, full exhaust w/ dump pipe, cold air intake, ECU, and its been tuned to just under 15psi.

Im a bit new to the turbo world but I have had a few Subarus before, but just wondering if its best to buy a turbo timer and get it installed just to play if safe with the turbo..?

kj0

Post by kj0 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:12 pm

Do you drive it hard a lot? If you rarely drive it hard then on the odd occasion you do, just leave your engine on for 30 seconds. There's no point unless each time you drive you hit it hard that it will heat up as such.,

niterida
General Member

Post by niterida » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:45 pm

Absolutely no point wasting your money on one.
If they were necessary then manufacturers would put them on as standard.
The latest turbos, bearings, oil and water cooling systems mean that they can take more abuse than 40 years ago.
And in an accident the timer can keep your engine running and/or fuel pump pumping which could have disastrous consequences.
The best thing you can do is just drive normally for a minute or 2 after hard driving before you park it up.

H-top

Post by H-top » Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:27 pm

who would drive their car Turbo Boxer sedate at any time? muhamuhamuha

yeah, not a real issue anymore. good wank factor though
H-Top

rolling in

MY00 GT Foz - Auto, Turbo, Luxury

discopotato03

Post by discopotato03 » Fri Apr 08, 2011 1:17 am

Good oil , a good synthetic oil , changed often (5000 max) and a decent new filter every time helps .
A proper group 4 synthetic oil is a fair bit more temperature tolerant than group 3 and mineral oils so less lilely to bake onto you turbine shaft at hot shut down .
And yes water cooled turbos make a big difference if they are plumbed in properly .

Gannon