Intake air temperature sensor code 112

Having issues with your ride ? Ask away in here ...
Peter_D

Intake air temperature sensor code 112

Post by Peter_D » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:46 pm

I am new to the Subaru World - my daughter has a much loved 2001 Bug Eye Impreza that, up to this point, has been an absolute delight. However, I will be appreciative of any assistance with our current problem. The Check Engine Light illuminates occasionally at which point performance deteriorates markedly. The code thrown (live and stored) is 112 - INTAKE AIR TEMPERATURE CIRCUIT MALFUNCTION. We have replaced the IAT Sensor, the connector and conducted a pin out check back to the EMS ECU. Additionally, there is a new TPS that has been set to specification.

I have re-set the ECU a couple of times BUT the problem quickly returns. It is totally intermittent with no pattern as to hot, cold traffic or highway.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated as I am running out of ideas. The Impreza has 160K kilometres, is driven very gently and has been maintained almost fanatically.

Thanks in advance.

TOONGA
Elder Member

Post by TOONGA » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:42 am

Does the car run a standard air cleaner assembly or an aftermarket job?

Have you checked for air leaks in the intake between the air cleaner and IAT Sensor and then from the IAT Sensor to the throttle body?

TOONGA
PJ Gone but not forgotten
JETCAR AKA the sandwedge Rusted in pieces

El_Freddo
Master Member

Post by El_Freddo » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:49 pm

Welcome to the forum Peter D.

Are there any other codes logged as well?

Was the replacement sensor a new genuine unit/aftermarket unit or a second hand one?

This info maybe helpful in solving your issue. Your daughter's is a baby in the km department and has plenty more left in it before you move it on!

Hopefully we'll/you'll sort out a solution from info shared.

Cheers

Bennie
"The lounge room is not a workshop..."
El Freddo's Pics - El_Freddo's youtube

Suby Spanner