What'll all this cost me?!

General Subaru Talk - Media / News / Stories ...
Kezpipa

What'll all this cost me?!

Post by Kezpipa » Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:36 pm

hey,

Thinking of a few things to help my car out (89 L Series wagon)... could anyone help estimate how much I would expect to pay for it all?

Also, how likely do you think my mechanic would be to let me pay it off in bits rather than all at once ... I've been using them for about 2 1/2 yrs now... and I drive to Clayton from Brunswick because I rate them so highly (after advice from ppl on this forum no less).. Not sure if I can swing it really.

Plus, if they're going to do my heater core, is there anything else I should ask them to look at while they're in there - as I think a large chunk of cost for that fix will be going on the manhours pulling the dash apart !! And with good reason obviously! (But has to be done - bit freaky driving on a cold rainy morning madly rubbing at the condensation and trying to see out the windows - scary)

-New heater core
-New gas struts
-Tyres - got a few which I could possibly swap over? What tyres are recommended anyhow?
-New key barrel for the hatch (any day now this is going to kick the bucket and I'll be trying to squeeze a double bass in via the side door - er - it's not gonna happen!)

hmmm that's all really... hope someone has some tips!

Suby Roo

Post by Suby Roo » Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:45 pm

Well at a guess it would be probably $150 for the heater core (core only, dont know how much to fit it), Assuming the struts for the boot?? $25 to get them re gassed (Got mine done for that), 13" tyres are about $60 to $70 each from places like k mart fitted and you can buy new barrels for locks for about $70 for all ignition, front doors and Boot from somewhere like supercheap.

Cheers, Jarrod
'91 Legacy GT wagon, 2.35 turbo, td05-20g, 05sti spec c dccd 6 speed, 3 inch, front mount, power fc

Kezpipa

Post by Kezpipa » Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:15 pm